Forums  ›  Emulators: Mame  ›  General

Help with HLSL Issues

Hey guys,

I'm having serious problems with HLSL and getting it to work. When I turn it on, audio and video both get really choppy. While I don't really know what I'm doing, I have tried changing the hlsl_enabled to 1 in the ini file as well as downloading and updating drivers for AMD and DirectX. Again, I'm not tech savvy, I've just been trying to do what I've read from my research thus far. But nothing seems to be helping the issue.

So when I've got a game loaded up, as soon as I head to the sliders option in MAME and switch to the hlsl sliders, it all goes tits up, but all the other selectable slider sets seem to work without a problem.

I'm not sure if my system is just garbage or what. I don't really have any idea as to what are considered good components or good specs. I have a 27 in iMac 5k retina display all-in-one, running Windows 10 64-bit via BootCamp. I have an Intel Core i7 6700k processor @ 4.00 GHz, 16 GB RAM, and an AMD Radeon R9 M395 GPU. I have absolutely no idea if any of that is decent, really good, or just trash. Everything is up-to-date as far as drivers go, and I have set the GPU to high-performance when using mame64.exe. I have even changed some settings in my AMD Radeon Settings App. I'm not really sure what I was doing, I was just making the same changes that some people were making in YouTube videos for graphic intensive PC games, assuming that maybe if I cranked everything that would fix the problem.